Tiramisu Cupcakes

Pretzels

My Mum visited me at Uni this week and we made a mini tiramisu together for pudding. I had some leftover mascarpone cheese that I wasn’t sure what to do with. After um-ing and ah-ing over what to do with it I was tossing up between some sort of cheesecake or another tiramisu. I then realised that it was actually a pretty easy decision seeing as I didn’t have enough mascarpone to make a whole cheesecake, not to mention tiramisu trumps cheesecake in my eyes any day of the week…

So late on Sunday evening I made this recipe up as I went along and, if I do say myself, it’s bloody good. It’s got all the elements of a tiramisu in a cupcake-shaped bundle! It’s also a lot easier that you’d think!

The only problem I encountered is the icing is runny, if anyone has any ideas about how to thicken it up without making it any sweeter (in other words, without adding more icing sugar) please let me know! I did try a little bit of corn-flour but I was concerned about adding too much just incase it made the icing a bit dodgy in the process of thickening it up! Runny icing or not, they’re still delicious 🙂

MAKES: 12 cupcakes, although I actually made 18 I would make them bigger if I did it again so 12 is a better number to aim for

EQUIPMENT REQUIRED:

1 large mixing bowl

1 small mixing bowl

1 twelve-hole cupcake tin

12 cupcake cases

Electric hand whisk (optional)

1 sieve

2 large metal spoons

1 small spoon

1 egg beater

1 piping bag and desired nozzle/knife

1 wire rack (optional – I just use a plate!)

INGREDIENTS:

For the sponge:

130g butter (I used Stork Baking Spread)

130g caster sugar

130g self-raising flour

2 eggs

7 tsp instant coffee power

4 tsp water

For the icing:

250g mascarpone cheese

150g icing sugar

3tsp Baileys (optional – but why wouldn’t you…)

Cocoa powder for decoration

METHOD:

Preheat the oven to 180 degrees

For the sponge:

  1. Beat the butter and caster sugar in a large mixing bowl with an electric hand whisk or spoon
  2. Add the beaten eggs slowly gradually so as not to curdle the mixture
  3. Sieve in the four and fold into the mixture using a large metal spoon
  4. Dissolve the instant coffee powder into the water and add to the mixture, stir to combine
  5. Divide the mixture into the 12 cupcake cases
  6. Bake for 15 minutes or until spongey to touch
  7. Remove and cool on a wire rack

For the icing:

  1. Add the mascarpone to a small mixing bowl and beat using a large metal spoon (this makes it easier to combine the icing sugar)
  2. Sieve in the icing sugar in 50g batches and mix to combine
  3. Add the Baileys and stir slowly until the mixture is of a single consistency
  4. Place the icing into the fridge to firm-up
  5. Use a small spoon to top the cooled cupcakes with a dollop of icing, use the back of the spoon to spread it
  6. Sieve a small amount of cocoa powder onto each cupcake

These cupcakes sure do smell delicious! My advice is to keep these bad-boys in the fridge to keep the icing nice and firm otherwise you will lose your lovely piped shape! Also, another top tip is to only add the cocoa powder when you’re about to serve them as it will dissolve into the icing if you leave it for a while and it won’t look as impressive!

So, how much did these scrummy yummy cuppy-cakes cost me to make? This was a slightly more pricey bake than usual at £3.90 due to the mascarpone cheese and Baileys, but worth every single penny! I think it’s safe to say these won’t go uneaten in my student flat for long – I give them 24 hours max!

One thought on “Tiramisu Cupcakes

  1. When adding icing sugar to any sort of cream cheese it will go runnier the more you mix it, the secret is to stir it as little as possible. Adding more sugar as you might with butter icing won’t help 😦

    Like

Leave a Reply

