Ghostly Halloween Cheat’s Cake-Pops

IMG_7112

I have made cake-pops once before and vowed never to do it again because they took me HOURS. I don’t know if I was using a complicated recipe or whether I’m just not good at them but I found them very tricky and messy to make!

I can’t remember where I saw them but I came across a photo of some halloween ghost-shaped cake-pops and I really wanted to make them without all the cake-pop hassle. My solution? Make a Rice Krispie treat cake-pop hybrid!

For a complete experiment these turned out brilliantly! They take much less time and use far fewer ingredients than traditional cake-pops, not to mention they are DEAD (see what I did there?) simple…

MAKES: 8 Ghostly Cake-Pops

EQUIPMENT REQUIRED:

1 Saucepan

1 Wooden spoon

1 Small, round Tupperware pot (or similar shaped pot)

1 Large plate

2 Bowls

1 Sharp knife

8 Cake-pop sticks/Ice lolly sticks

INGREDIENTS:

80g Rice Krispies

35g Butter (I use Stork Baking Spread)

95g Mini Marshmallows

550g Ready-to-Roll Fondant Icing

1/2 tbsp Water

40g Icing sugar (plus extra for dusting)

Black food colouring

METHOD:

For the Rice Krispie base:

  1. Melt the butter in a saucepan
  2. Add the marshmallows and stir with a wooden spoon until they melt
  3. Tip in the Rice Krispies and stir into the mixture gently until coated
  4. Spoon roughly 1/8th of the mixture into a small round Tupperware pot and push down to compact it
  5. Turn the tupperware pot upside down on a plate and squeeze the sides slightly and the mixture should fall out
  6. Repeat steps 4 and 5 until all the mixture is used

For the icing cloak:

  1. Mix the icing sugar and water in a bowl to make a glacé icing
  2. Use some of this mixture to coat the ends of the cake-pop sticks and push them into the bottom of the Rice Krispie treat bases
  3. Lightly dust a surface with icing sugar
  4. Roll out the fondant icing until it is approximately just thicker than a 10p coin
  5. Using a upturned bowl as template cut out circles of the icing using a sharp knife (keep any off-cuts for later)
  6. Hold the circle of fondant icing in the palm of your hand and put a small dollop of glacé icing in the centre
  7. Place the top of Rice Krispie cake-pop in the centre
  8. Turn the cake-pop upright and fold down the edges of the fondant icing slightly to make a cloaked effect

For the ghost’s eyes:

  1. Add a few drops of black food colouring to the off-cuts of fondant icing and mix together by rolling it into a ball in the palm of your hand
  2. Break off small amounts of the black fondant and roll them to create 16 small balls
  3. Push the black fondant balls onto the ghost cake-pops at the appropriate level (you may need to rub a small amount of water on to the cloak to get them to stick)

Ideally I would have displayed them in a cake-pop stand, but as a student I decided polystyrene would do! It may not look as good but it does the job. You can paint and decorate the polystyrene block to make it more fitting for halloween!

This fake-bake cost me £2.10 at Morissons. They are definitely the most fun-looking edible thing I have made and I’ve surprised myself with my inventing ability! I also think I have been inspired to give traditional cake-pops one more go so look out for that on my blog at a later date!

Leave a Reply

