Banana Bread

Banana Bread

As a student I hate seeing my valuable food going to waste so I always use my old mushy bananas for banana bread. I tell myself I’ve just forgotten to eat the bananas but secretly I’ve let them get mushy just so I have an excuse to bake this!

Banana bread is one of my favourite things to make purely because it tastes absolutely incredible. I like to share this bake amongst teammates at sports competitions to give everyone some energy… and to make other teams envious!

MAKES: About 10 slices

INGREDIENTS: 

100g Butter (I use Stork Baking Spread)

150g Caster Sugar

2 Eggs

2 Ripe Bananas

2tbsp Milk

1tsp Baking Powder

1tsp Vanilla Essence (optional)

ADDED EXTRAS:

1tsp Warm Water

25g Icing Sugar

EQUIPMENT REQUIRED:

2lb Loaf Tin

Greaseproof/Baking Paper (I use a loaf tin liner but if you don’t have these just cut ordinary baking paper to size)

1 Large Mixing Bowl

1 Other Bowl

1 Sieve

1 Wooden Spoon

1 Hand Mixer (optional, but makes the job significantly easier!)

1 Wire Rack (optional)

METHOD:

Pre-heat the oven to 180 degrees. Grease the loaf tin and line with greaseproof/baking paper.

  1. Add all the ingredients except the bananas to a large mixing bowl (make sure you sieve the flour!)
  2. Beat together for 2 minutes with a hand mixer (or with a wooden spoon for longer) until smooth – the mixture will be quick thick
  3. In a separate bowl mash the bananas, leave a few lumps if you’d like banana visible in the sponge when you cut it
  4. Add the banana to the mixture and gently stir with a wooden spoon until combined
  5. Pour into the loaf tin and level out by shaking gently from side to side
  6. Place on a middle shelf and cook for 1 hour or until a knife comes out clean when pushed into the centre
  7. Remove from the oven and leave until the tin is cool
  8. Remove the banana bread from the loaf tin and leave to cool on a wire rack (or a plate if you don’t have one!)
  9. Once cool, mix the icing sugar and water until it is the consistency of runny honey and drizzle on top of the loaf if you fancy it

If you’re anything like me the chances of this going uneaten by the time it’s cool is very slim – it is irresistible straight out of the oven! This bake cost me £1.74 by shopping at Morrisons – a great value treat to share or to keep all for yourself 😉

One thought on “Banana Bread

  1. Ripe bananas can be put in the freezer whole skin and all, and kept to make banana bread when convenient, just thaw them out when you want them

    Like

Leave a Reply

