Brownies

Brownies

Everyone loves brownies – it’s a well-known fact.

I do have to admit, however, that I have a love-hate relationship with brownies. Whenever I feel like baking but I’m not sure what to bake I ask my family and friends; although I don’t know why I bother, they always say the same thing: “BROWNIES!” I’ve lost count of the number of batches of brownies I have made in my lifetime so it’s not surprising that I sometimes get bored of making them, especially when I fancy making something more adventurous. My opinion on brownies always changes as soon as they come out the oven, looking delicious and filling the house with gorgeous smells – not to mention fact that they are always a hit!

I have used this recipe for brownies for the last 4 and a half years and have never looked to find a different one for four reasons: they taste fabulous, they require very few tools, they only have 6 ingredients and they are a doddle to make. Perfect!

MAKES: 16 squares

INGREDIENTS:

220g Granulated Sugar

75g Self-Raising Flour

40g Cocoa Powder

2 Beaten Eggs

100g Melted Butter/Margarine (I like to use Stork Baking Spread) plus extra for greasing

3 Tbsp Milk

ADDED EXTRAS:

1 Small Handful of Chocolate Chips

EQUIPMENT REQUIRED:

1 20cm x 20cm Square Baking Tin (smaller is fine – they’ll just be gooey-er!)

Greaseproof/Baking Paper

1 Large Mixing Bowl

1 Large Metal Spoon

1 Sieve

1 Egg Beater/Fork

METHOD:

Pre-heat the oven to 180 degrees. Grease the baking tray and line with greaseproof/baking paper (I like to line the bottom and two sides so that you can easily lift out the brownies once they are cool)

  1. Sieve all the dry ingredients into a large mixing bowl
  2. Add the melted butter/margarine and stir with a large metal spoon slowly until combined
  3. Add the beaten eggs to the bowl and mix until combined
  4. Pour in the milk
  5. Beat with the metal spoon for 1 minute to ensure the ingredients are fully mixed together
  6. Pour the mixture into the baking tin
  7. Place on a middle shelf of the oven for 20 minutes (18 if you like a gooey middle!)
  8. Remove from the oven (add the chocolate chips to the top if you fancy) and leave until cool
  9. Cut into 16 square pieces

Voilà!

So, what did these brownies cost me to make? I shop in Morrisons and using their most “student friendly” items this bake cost me an impressive £1.38!

Leave a Reply

